Festival Concerts

Department of Music and Dance

April 20-25, 2021 – Bach Festival

All events are FREE except for April 25, Matt Haimovitz

Elizabeth Chang, William Hite, Amanda Stenroos & Tony Thornton, co-producers

Members of Opus OneAll programs subject to change.

Tuesday, April 20, 7:30pm (online via YouTube)
Opus One Chamber Orchestra
With faculty performers Cobus du Toit, flute; Elizabeth Chang, violin & Edward Arron, cello; Gregory Hayes, guest harpsichordist
     J.S. Bach: Musical Offering, BWV 1079
Opus One performers, pdf =>      Program Notes by Gregory Hayes =>

Elizabeth Chang

Wednesday, April 21, 7:30pm (online via YouTube)
Elizabeth Chang, violin
      J.S. Bach: Chaconne for solo violin from Partita No. 2 in D minor, BWV 1004
      Salvatore Macchia: Grounds for Violin and Electronics (2018, World premiere)
With Jazer Giles, electronics
Program Notes on Grounds by Prof. Macchia =>

Thursday, April 22, 7:30pm (online via YouTube)
Lauren Cox, dancer; Jonathan Hulting-Cohen, baritone saxophone
Gregory Spiridopoulos, trombone
Jonathan Hulting-Cohen & Lauren CoxEduardo Leandro, guest marimba; Ayano Kataoka, marimba
Salvatore Macchia, viola da gamba
      Lauren Cox/Jonathan Hulting-Cohen: Prelude (2021)
For 4 baritone saxophones and dancer, inspired by the Prelude of Bach’s Solo Cello Suite #1 in G major
      J.S. Bach (arr. Hunsberger): Passacaglia in C minor, BWV 582
      J.S. Bach: Trio Sonata No. 2 in C minor, BWV 526
      J.S. Bach: Four duets from Klavier-Übung III, BWV 802-805

Cobus du Toit, Kathryn LockwoodFriday, April 23, 7:30pm (online via YouTube)
Kathryn Lockwood, viola & Cobus du Toit, flute
     J.S. Bach: Suite No. 5 in C minor, BWV 1011
    György Kurtág: Signs, Games and Messages for Solo Viola (1998-2005)
     J.S. Bach: Partita in A minor for solo flute, BWV 1013

Saturday, April 24, all day
Bach Scholarly Symposium

Matt HaimovitzSunday, April 25, 3pm, $10 general/UMass students free (livestream)
Fine Arts Center presents
Matt Haimovitz: Bach Listening Room
     J.S. Bach: Suite II in D minor, Prelude
     David Sanford: Suolo (World premiere)
     Luna Pearl Woolf: Diaphanous Graces (World premiere)
     J.S. Bach: Suite VI in D on cello piccolo (complete)

Plus, a post-concert Q&A with Haimovitz & Woolf, moderated by Elizabeth Chang & Michael Sakamoto