Under-represented languages

In recent years faculty members have conducted field work on languages as diverse as Tlingit, Navajo, Oto-Manguean languages, Bodic languages, Bantu languages, Dholuo, Somali, Batsbi, and Samoan.  Graduate students have worked on an even wider array of languages, and still others have been studied in field methods courses.  In this department, field work has been used as a tool for research in phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics, psycholinguistics, documentation, historical linguistics, and language variation.  In addition, faculty as well as graduate students have been active in a variety of community-centered projects, including workshops for speakers of endangered languages and teachers of speakers of varieties of English, dictionaries, grammars and pedagogical materials.

Faculty

Michael Becker
michael@linguist.umass.edu
BeckerResearch interests:
Phonology, computational and experimental morphophonology, fieldwork, Semitic
Seth Cable
scable@linguist.umass.edu
Cable
Research interests:
Fieldwork, Semantics, Syntax, Na-Dene Languages
Lisa Green
lgreen@linguist.umass.edu
GreenResearch interests:
Syntax/Semantics with focus on African American English, syntactic variation, L1 Acquisition
Alice Harris (Emerita)
acharris@linguist.umass.edu
Harris
Research interests:
Historical Linguistics, Morphology, Languages of the Caucasus
John Kingston
jkingston@linguist.umass.edu
Kingston
Research interests:
Phonetics, Phonology, Psycholinguistics
Peggy Speas (Emerita)
pspeas@linguist.umass.edu
Speas
Research interests:
Syntax, Morphology, Na-Dene Languages
Kristine Yu
krisyu@linguist.umass.edu
Yu
Research interests:
Prosody from the Speech Signal on Up, Phonetics, Phonology

 

Graduate students

Carolyn Jane Anderson
carolynander@linguist.umass.edu
andersonResearch interests:
Psycholinguistics, Computational Linguistics,
Semantics, Fieldwork
Year started:
2015
Leah Chapman
lschapman@umass.edu
ChapmanResearch interests:
Syntax
Year started:
2016
Christopher Hammerly
chammerly@umass.edu
IvanResearch interests:
Syntax, morphology, psycholinguistics
Year started:
2015
Kaden Holladay
kholladay@umass.edu
HolladayResearch interests:
Morpho-phonology, syntax-semantics interface, Yup’ik, Finnish
Year started:
2017
Shay Hucklebridge
shucklebridg@umass.edu
HucklebridgeResearch interests:
Semantics, Linguistic Fieldwork, and Language Revitalization/Documentation
Year started:
2017
Jyoti Iyer
jiyer@linguist.umass.edu
IyerResearch interests:
Syntax, semantics, Tamil
Year started:
2013
Kimberly Johnson
kcjohnson@linguist.umass.edu
JohnsonResearch interests:
Syntax, semantics, fieldwork
Year started:
2016
Zahra Mirrazi
zmirrazirena@umass.edu
🙂Research interests:
Syntax, semantics
Year started:
2016

Recent dissertations on endangered / understudied languages

Leland Kusmer.2019.Optimal Linearization: Prosodic displacement in Khoekhoe and beyond

Elizabeth Bogal-Allbritten. 2016. Building Meaning in Navajo.

Suzi Lima, 2015. The Grammar of Individuation and Counting.

Andrew Robert McKenzie, 2012. The Role of Contextual Restriction in Reference-Tracking.

Amy Rose Deal, 2010. Topics In The Nez Perce Verb.

Other recent dissertations involving fieldwork

Noah Constant, 2014. Contrastive Topic: Meanings and Realizations

Emily Elfner. 2012. Syntax-Prosody Interactions in Irish.

Christopher M. Davis, 2011. Constraining Interpretation: Sentence Final Particles in Japanese.