Syntax

Research on syntax at UMass is highly collaborative and empirically based.¬† We believe that discovering the nature of natural language syntax requires not just a deep understanding of current models of sentence structure and syntactic features, but also a broad range of skills in collecting and analyzing linguistic data. The syntax faculty’s research exemplifies these goals in a variety of ways, including seeking extensive cross-linguistic evidence that reveals the typology of syntactic systems, testing theoretical models against data from understudied languages, and developing models of syntactic knowledge in collaboration with specialists in semantics, psycholinguistics, phonology and language development.

Faculty

Rajesh Bhatt
bhatt@linguist.umass.edu
Bhatt
Research interests:
Syntax, Semantics, Tree Adjoining Grammars, South Asian Languages
Lisa Green
lgreen@linguist.umass.edu
Green
Research interests:
Syntax/Semantics with focus on African American English, syntactic variation, L1 Acquisition
Kyle Johnson
kbj@linguist.umass.edu
Johnson
Research interests:
Syntax
Shota Momma
snegishi@umass.edu
Momma
Research interests:
Psycholinguistics, Syntax, Sentence Production
Peggy Speas (Emerita)
pspeas@linguist.umass.edu
Speas
Research interests:
Syntax, Morphology, Na-Dene Languages
Ellen Woolford
woolford@linguist.umass.edu
Woolford
Research interests:
Restrictive theoretical accounts of universals and typological generalizations about case, agreement, and word order

Graduate students

Leah Chapman
lschapman@umass.edu
ChapmanResearch interests:
Syntax
Year started:
2016
Duygu Goksu
dgoksu@umass.edu
GoksuResearch interests:
Syntax, semantics, phonology
Year started:
2018
Christopher Hammerly
chammerly@umass.edu
IvanResearch interests:
Syntax, morphology, psycholinguistics
Year started:
2015
Kaden Holladay
kholladay@umass.edu
IvanResearch interests:
Morpho-phonology, Syntax-Semantics interface, Yup'ik, Finnish
Year started:
2017
Shay Hucklebridge
shucklebridg@umass.edu
HucklebridgeResearch interests:
Semantics, Linguistic Fieldwork, and Language Revitalization/Documentation
Year started:
2017
Rodica Ivan
rivan@umass.edu
IvanResearch interests:
Syntax, semantics, syntax-semantics interface
Year started:
2014
Jyoti Iyer
jiyer@linguist.umass.edu
IyerResearch interests:
Syntax, semantics, Tamil
Year started:
2013
Kimberly Johnson
kcjohnson@linguist.umass.edu
JohnsonResearch interests:
Syntax, semantics, fieldwork
Year started:
2016
Jaieun Kim
jaieunkim@umass.edu
KimResearch interests:
Language acquisition, syntax, Korean
Year started:
2015
Zahra Mirrazi
zmirrazirena@umass.edu
ūüôāResearch interests:
Syntax, semantics
Year started:
2016
Anissa Neal
anneal@umass.edu
NealResearch interests:
Psycholinguistics, syntax, syntax-semantics interface
Year started:
2018
Deniz Ozyildiz
dozyildiz@umass.edu
OzyildizResearch interests:
Syntax, semantics, attitude reports, pronouns, Turkish
Year started:
2014
Michael Wilson
michaelwilso@umass.edu
Research interests:
Syntax, semantics, psycholinguistics
Year started:
2015
Rong Yin
ryin@umass.edu
Research interests:
Syntax, syntax-semantics interface
Year started:
2015

Recent Dissertations

Caroline Andrews.2019.There and Gone Again: Syntactic Structure in Memory

Sakshi Bhatia.2019.Computing Agreement in a Mixed System

Thuy Bui.2019. Binding and Coreference in Vietnamese

Tracy Conner.2019. Divorce Licensing: Separate Criteria for Predicate and Clausal Ellipsis

Leland Kusmer.2019. Optimal Linearization: Prosodic Displacement in Khoekhoegowab and Beyond

David Erschler.2018. Typology of bizarre ellipsis varieties

Hsin-Lun Huang. 2018. The Head-Quarters of Mandarin Arguments.

Mike Clauss. 2017. The Form and Acquisition of Free Relatives.

Ethan Poole. 2017. Movement and the Semantic Type of Traces.

Shayne Slogget. 2017. When Errors aren’t: How Comprehenders Selectively violate Binding Theory.

Nick LaCara. 2016. Anaphora, Inversion, and Focus.

Stefan Keine. 2016. Probes and their Horizons.

Masashi Hashimoto. 2015. Experiencing in Japanese: The Experiencer Restriction across Clausal Types.

Jason Overfelt. 2015. Rightward Movement: A Study in Locality,

Noah Constant. 2014. Contrastive Topic: Meanings and Realizations.

Andrew Weir. 2013. Fragments and Clausal Ellipsis.

Annahita Farudi. 2013. Gapping in Farsi: A Crosslinguistic Investigation.

Emily Elfner. 2012. Syntax-Prosody Interactions in Irish.

Andrew Robert McKenzie. 2012. The Role of Contextual Restriction in Reference-Tracking.

Martin Walkow. 2012. Goals, Big and Small.