Computational linguistics

Computational linguistics at UMass Amherst involves the application of computational methods and theory to the study of linguistics, and the development of computational theories of language learning and language processing. The faculty in this area are part of a broader community of researchers studying computation and language at the 5 Colleges, which along with computational linguistics also includes research in natural language processing and information retrieval.

Faculty

Michael Becker
michael@linguist.umass.edu
BeckerResearch interests:
Phonology, computational and experimental morphophonology, fieldwork, Semitic
Rajesh Bhatt
bhatt@linguist.umass.edu
BhattResearch interests:
Syntax, Semantics, Tree Adjoining Grammars, South Asian Languages
Brian Dillon
brian@linguist.umass.edu
DillonResearch interests:
Psycholinguistics, Syntax
Gaja Jarosz
jarosz@linguist.umass.edu
JaroszResearch interests:
Phonology, Learnability, Computational Modeling, Acquisition
Joe Pater
pater@linguist.umass.edu
PaterResearch interests:
Phonological Theory and Learning, Computational and Experimental Methods
Kristine Yu
krisyu@linguist.umass.edu
YuResearch interests:
Prosody from the Speech Signal on Up, Phonetics, Phonology

Graduate students

Carolyn Jane Anderson
carolynander@umass.edu
andersonResearch interests:
Psycholinguistics, Computational Linguistics, Semantics, Fieldwork
Year started:
2015
Coral Hughto
coralwilliam@linguist.umass.edu
HughtoResearch interests:
Phonology, computational linguistics, learning
Year started:
2013
Seoyoung Kim
seoyoungkimk@umass.edu
KimResearch interests:
Computational phonology, Fieldwork
Year started:
2019
Andrew Lamont
alamont@linguist.umass.edu
LamontResearch interests:
Phonology, typology, computational linguistics
Year started:
2016
Max Nelson
manelson@umass.edu
NelsonResearch interests:
Computational Linguistics, Phonology, Learnability
Year started:
2017
Alex Nyman
anyman@umass.edu
NymanResearch interests:
Learnability and formal language theory
Year started:
2018
Brandon Prickett
bprickett@umass.edu
PrickettResearch interests:
Phonology
Year started:
2015

Recent dissertations

Aleksei Nazarov. 2016. Extending Hidden Structure: Features, Opacity, and Exceptions.

Presley Pizzo. 2015. Investigating Properties of Phonotactic Knowledge Through Web-Based Experimentation.

Robert Staubs, 2014. Computational Modeling of Learning Biases in Stress Typology.