Frontier and Union 38



Frontier Regional and Union 38 School Districts
219 Christian Lane
S. Deerfield, MA 01373
Sherie Gervais
Telephone: (413) 665-1155

Website URL:

School District Profile:

Frontier Regional and Union 38 School Districts are located in rural Western Massachusetts. Approximately 1,700 students are enrolled PreK-12. The districts employ approximately 180 certified personnel and support staff of about 140 (including the Out of School Time Program, Daybreak, Full-Day Preschool and Frontier Extension Programs). Frontier Regional and Union #38 School Districts serves the towns of Conway, Deerfield, Sunderland and Whately. Each town is governed by a local school committee. The schools enjoy a high level of community support with a high level of expectation for educational excellence. Approximately 85% of the graduates pursue a two year or four year post secondary education.

The school districts are located within twenty (20) miles of six (6) colleges and universities including Mt. Holyoke College, Smith College, Amherst College, Hampshire College and the University of Massachusetts as well as Greenfield Community College. The fine arts facilities of these colleges afford excellent opportunities for a variety of educational and cultural experiences.

A portion of the school district is located in Old Deerfield, a National Historic Site. Several colonial homes and taverns have been restored and are open to the public as museums. The district also is home to three private schools in Deerfield of international renown; namely, Deerfield Academy, Bement School, and Eaglebrook School.

Except for the small business area in South Deerfield, the area is primarily rural. The towns connect by interstate highways to Boston, Massachusetts; (two hours by auto), Hartford, Connecticut; (one and a half hours by auto), and Springfield, Massachusetts; (forty-five minutes by auto).

To Visit Our Site: