Formal analysis

Luiz Amaral
amaral@spanport.umass.edu
Languages, Literatures and Cultures (Hispanic linguistics)
No photo availableResearch interests: Bilingual and Second Language Acquisition, Applied Linguistics
Louise Antony
lantony@philos.umass.edu
Philosophy
No photo availableResearch interests: Philosophical issues at intersection of epistemology and cognitive science, and feminst theory and cognitive science (e.g., implicit bias)
Rajesh Bhatt
bhatt@linguist.umass.edu
Linguistics
No photo availableResearch interests: Syntax, syntax-semantics interface, Indo-Aryan languages, mathematical linguistics
Seth Cable
scable@linguist.umass.edu
Linguistics
No photo availableResearch interests: Formal semantic analysis of phenomena from understudied and/or endangered languages (especially Tlingit).
Rod Grupen
grupen@cs.umass.edu
Computer Science
No photo availableResearch interests: Robotics (mechanics, control, representation)
Alice Harris
acharris@linguist.umass.edu
Linguistics
No photo availableResearch interests: Historical linguistics, morphology, psycholinguistic work on understudied languages
Jeremy Hartman
hartman@linguist.umass.edu
Linguistics
No photo availableResearch interests: Language Acquisition, Syntactic Theory
Gaja Jarosz
jarosz@linguist.umass.edu
Linguistics
No photo availableResearch interests: Phonology, computational linguistics, and language acquisition
Hilary Kornblith
kornblith@philos.umass.edu
Philosophy
No photo availableResearch interests: I work on issues in epistemology which are illuminated by results from the cognitive sciences.
Angelika Kratzer
kratzer@linguist.umass.edu
Linguistics
No photo availableResearch interests: Semantics, philosophy of language. Modality, mood, conditionals, embedded sentences, argument structure, event semantics, pronouns.
Joseph Levine
jle@philos.umass.edu
Philosophy
No photo availableResearch interests: Philosophical issues revolving around mental representation, intentionality, and consciousness.
John McCarthy
jmccarthy@linguist.umass.edu
Linguistics
No photo availableResearch interests: Phonology and morphology
Magda Oiry
moiry@linguist.umass.edu
Linguistics and Languages, Literatures and Cultures (French)
No photo availableResearch interests: Interested by syntactic development in older children (3 to 12) in relation to mental states or Theory of Mind.
Barbara Partee
partee@linguist.umass.edu
Linguistics
No photo availableResearch interests: Formal semantics and its relations to pragmatics, syntax, philosophy of language, and cognitive science
Joe Pater
pater@linguist.umass.edu
Linguistics
No photo availableResearch interests: Phonology and its learning; experimental and computational methods
Alejandro Perez Carballo
apc@umass.edu
Philosophy
No photo availableResearch interests: Conceptual innovation; Moral and Mathematical thought and language; Reasoning.
Tom Roeper
roeper@linguist.umass.edu
Linguistics
No photo availableResearch interests: Theoretical and experimental approaches to language acquisition
Jeffrey Starns
jstarns@psych.umass.edu
Psychological and Brain Sciences (Cognitive)
No photo availableResearch interests: Memory for Events
Robert Staubs
rstaubs@linguist.umass.edu
Linguistics
No photo availableResearch interests: Frequency of linguistic patterns through models of learning; roles of representation and computational structure in phonology
Christopher White
cwmwhite@music.umass.edu
Music and Dance
No photo availableResearch interests: Modeling of musical syntax.
Kristine Yu
krisyu@linguist.umass.edu
Linguistics
No photo availableResearch interests: Prosody, phonetics, phonology